top of page

Seeking Perspective


Today is the day, the countdown has ended! In about 24hrs I will be in Johannesburg, South Africa preparing to begin activities for the Global Young Peoples Convocation. I have to admit, I am a flurry of emotions: excitement, delightment, nervousness, but most of all humbled.

For me this trip marks the beginning of a whole new chapter of my life. On Friday I departed my job as a resident director for Juniata College, and upon my return from GYPC I will be entering seminary in pursuit of a ministry career. To be able to mark the transition between these two chapters of my life with the GYPC is more than I could have ever hoped for. But with all this transitioning also comes seeking perspective. Perspective is something that has come up a lot in the past week, from VBS, to post-movie discussions for a local church event, and even in this past week’s sermon!

For me when a topic comes up that much, I need to look deeper into its meaning. What is it about perspective right now that is so important? Why do I need to be focused on it? As I sit in the airport reflecting on this, I believe perspective is so important right now because I need to regain a new sense of perspective for myself. I just left the life I knew and was comfortable with to step out into the world (both figuratively and literally!!). I need to spend time finding what my new perspective will be, what my normal is, and where my comfort now lies. This is what has me so excited about GYPC! All of the youth and young adults are stepping out of their comfort zones in order to work towards advancing the global United Methodist Church. And I, personally, cannot wait to see what lies ahead for all of us in this next week.

Today I am seeking perspective by studying in 2 Corinthians. Specifically reflecting chapter 4 verse 18, and that is what I will leave you with for now.

“18 We don’t focus on the things that can be seen but on the things that can’t be seen. The things that can be seen don’t last, but the things that can’t be seen are eternal.”

bottom of page